100

Issue 35

February / March 2014

Cover photo: Mark Osterman
PDF size: 115 MB
Pages: 251

CLOSE-UP | Dasha & Mari, Ukraine
PROJECT
 | Hana Pesut, Canada
WET PLATE
 | Mark Osterman, USA
INSTANTION
 | Camille Andrea Rubiani, Switzerland
PLAYSTICK | Laura Burlton, USA
PINHOLE
 | Paul Mitchell, UK
TETRA | Michael Salmela, USA
WIDE
 | Antonio Correia, Portugal
OPEN | James Wigger, USA
PROEYECT | Eran Gilat, Israel

BLUR is an effort of the non-profit Photography Association F.U.C.*. Every purchase is considered a valued donation, with a minimum of $2.

Minimum price:  $2.00

Log in or  Subscribe now  to download freely

Category:

BLUR no. 35

February / March 2014

BLUR magazine has decided to make 2014 the WET PLATE year. Apart from my personal interest in Wet Plate, there is another particular reason for this decision. I have been following the wet plate scene for a few years now, and I have done about 20 interviews so far with the wet plate photographers (thanks to Denis and Goga for their help), some of the most famous and most interesting in the world. During that time, I have been gradually collecting the equipment (an ongoing process) in order to join that magical practice—but I have also faced many problems, which in turn influenced my desire to do my best to promote the wet plate scene.

Therefore, besides several special BLUR issues being prepared, I am proud to officially announce EQUINOX, the first international Wet Plate contest and quite possibly the first wet plate contest since the process was invented in 1851. The contest will begin on the first day of spring and will last until the first day of autumn, a period in which the wet plate scene will be the focus of our interest.

On the cover of our first issue in 2014 is the work of a very interesting, creative, and honored artist, Mark Osterman, who is probably a household name for the majority of wet-platers. The reasons for this, and the reason I chose Mark to be a juror in our wet plate contest, will be clear in the series of very interesting interviews to be presented in the Wet Plate section of BLUR this year.

Robert Gojević, founder and editor in chief

CLOSE UP

Dasha & Mari, Ukraine

Info

“Since our childhood, we have been attracted by beauty… the beauty of fabric and colorful buttons that our grandmother used to have for sewing and knitting dresses. Delicate chiffon … lustrous silk … soft velvet—in a variety of shades, tints. A palette of sensations.

Our room always reminded of an art space where we used to create. Watercolors and wet glass to receive an abstract pattern and then transform them into various visual scenes, artworks. We put black ink on paper with tiny lines revealing graceful silhouettes of women. Sometimes we were working together on one drawing using a single piece of paper to let one of us start it and the other one to continue and complete.”

PROJECT

Hana Pesut, Canada

Info

“Switcheroo is a dual portrait series by Canadian photographer Hana Pesut in which accomplices are photographed twice—once in their own outfits and again wearing each other’s against the same background.”

WET PLATE

Mark Osterman, USA

Info

“The wet collodion process never really died. It was used up to the late 1960s in parts of the world for commercial photomechanical work. There have also always been pockets of people working with the collodion process in isolation for different reasons. So, the embers were still plenty warm when we came on the scene. France and I just fanned it to a more healthy flame. In 1995 we began publishing The Collodion Journal, a quarterly that gave us a platform for our research.”

INSTANTION

Camille Andrea Rubiani, Switzerland

Info

“A former psychology student and graphic designer, now I’m a freelance photographer, mainly interested in portraiture and photojournalism.”

PLAYSTICK

Laura Burlton, USA

Info

“These photos started as a project I could easily do at home with my kids. My daughters enjoyed dressing up, and we liked to draw and act out scenes for the camera. We enjoy reading fairy tales and other classic fiction like Alice in Wonderland. While oftentimes these stories come with illustrations, it is always fun to interpret them on your own and draw out your own version.”

PINHOLE

Paul Mitchell, UK

Info

“I am sure that many photographers aspire to have their work recognized and perhaps even profit from it. I have no such preconceptions with my pinhole work—they’re quirky, not everyone’s cup of tea and don’t do very well in a commercial environment. So why do I still take them? It’s fun, unpredictable, and initiates more conversations with people than my digital camera ever does.”

TETRA

Michael Salmela, USA

Info

— info not available —

WIDE

Antonio Correia, Portugal

Info

“This is a photographic project of the Himalayas done while traveling on the roads in the Indian region between Pakistan and China, Jammu and Kashmir. It is a very sensible region, not only politically but also in environmental terms, where climate changes have a major impact.”

OPEN

James Wigger, USA

Info

“What truly got me into photography was instant film, most notably the long lamented Polaroid film. Being able to manipulate processes has always been at the center of my love affair with instant film. Due to its ever-dwindling supplies though I have been shooting more and more with expired film. With both the liquid-like instant film and the chaos of expired film, I am presented with the necessary challenges of serendipity and chance to deal with.”

PROEYECT

Eran Gilat, Israel

Info

“In recent years, I found myself directing most of my attention and energy to still life photography of biological specimens, highly inspired by my long-lasting confrontation with biological tissues and natural fauna. It takes a while for a young clinician or researcher to accommodate the laboratory or hospital scenes to enable good performance. This is done by extensive training; some cannot adjust to the visuals. I feel my photographic activity carries me to these regions too. My photographic activity deals with the aesthetics of the scene, improvising various contexts. The tools and paraphernalia shown are not just the typical ones used in the operating place.”

BLUR GALLERY 36

Various authors

BLUR Issue 35

February / March 2014
  1. All that Hollywood glamour | Filip Rađenović | Serbia & Montenegro | http://cimbum.tumblr.com
  2. The witches | Romain Vernede | France | http://monsieurnede.fr
  3. See Through | Maja Topčagić | Bosnia & Herzegovina | www.facebook.com/angelicaphotographs
  4. Tears of Suffering | Terri | Canada
  5. Zahra | Mona Blank | Poland | http://www.monablank.com
  6. Pose | Yevgen Romanenko | Ukraine | http://www.romanenko.org
  7. A Million Dollar Smile | Amir Eltahan | Israel | http://www.amireltahan.com
  8. Good morning Jack | Drazen Priganica | Spain | http://priganica.see.me
  9. Queen | Antonio | Croatia
  10. Indian summer | Tibor Arva | Serbia and Montenegro
  11. Gia | Yana Bardadim | USA | http://yanabardadim.com
  12. Photo of a woman | Sherolin Santos | Brazil | www. sherolinsantos.com
  13. Alexandra | Mitja Kobal | Slovenia | www.mitjakobal.com
  14. Waves of Sand | Magicc Imagery | USA | http://magiccimagery.tumblr.com
  15. Black Ribbon Dress | Robert Coppa | Australia | www.robertcoppa.com
  16. Nastya | Oleg | Russia | www.bagmutskiy.com
  17. Memories | FairyLady | Poland | https://www.facebook.com/fairyladyphotography
  18. Sea creature | Terra yates | USA | www.creativeposephotography.com
  19. Have a nice day| Hrvoje Mareković | Croatia | https://www.facebook.com/hmarekovich
  20. Abstract Projection | Indrajeet Rajkhowa | India| http://www.behance.net/indrajeetrajkhowa
  21. Butterflies | Tyler Holbein | USA | www.beanartphotography.com
  22. Futuristic | Shawn | Bahamas | www.shawntphotography.com
  23. Povratak| Ines Ličina | Croatia | www.inkapinkafoto.com
  24. Laundry Day | Carmen Gonzalez | Netherlands | www.carmengonzalez.org
  25. Steamfun | Sander van Laar | www.pixellaar.nl | Netherlands
  26. Duo | Nicolas Poizot | http://www.nicolaspoizot.com | France
  27. Self Portrait | Jordyn Karpinski | jordynkarpinski.tumblr.com | USA
  28. Emotion | Jeffrey G. Delfin | http://jeffdelfin.lens.ph | Philippines
  29. *** | Svetlana | Kazakhstan
  30. End of a Story | Svetlana Bekyarova | Bulgaria
  31. La cage | Sarah Martinet | http://www.sarah-martinet-photographe.fr | France
  32. Alexandra | Ian Pettigrew | www.ianpettigrew.com | Canada
  33. Rising star | Alexander Varelidis | http://alexander-varelidis.tumblr.com | Greece
  34. Through A bus windows | Tomer Merav | http://1x.com/member/tomermerav | Israel
  35. Pawn | Pavel Titovich | http://titovichphoto.com | Russia
  36. Natasha | Philippe Deutsch | www.deutsch-art.info | France